Camp Grizzly Miniatures

While at KublaCon game convention over Memorial Day weekend in Burlingame, California my friend Dan and I played a demo of a game I had been following since its Kickstarter, Camp pic2537804Grizzly by Ameritash Games. In Camp Grizzly, players take on the role of camp counselors at a summer camp where the homicidal grounds keeper Otis, who has an unhealthy bear fetish, is stalking and killing the counselors. Your goal, find objects to escape. The game is a fun and fast cooperative board game that captures the tropes and atmosphere of 70’s and 80’s slasher films. ZombieSmith also produced a pack of miniatures for Otis and the six camp counselors that really add a nice touch to the game. So in addition to picking up the base game at the show, I also had to pick up the miniatures. Wanting to share this great new game with my regular gaming group I resolved to make painting the miniatures my first project of the 6 Month Mountain Reduction and Painting Challenge.

I cleaned up the miniatures and used some Vallejo Dark Earth paste to level out the cast bases with the 25mm round bases. After that dried I flocked the bases with sand and then primed with grey. I started with Otis and essentiallymatched the artwork to my paint scheme. I used Games Workshop’s excellent technical paint Blood for the Blood God to create the gore on Otis, however I realized I should have done that after dull coating the figure as much for sheen from the technical paint was lost.

IMG_7719

IMG_7722

IMG_7723 IMG_7724

Kevin was up next. I took some liberty with his colors and matched his shirt but gave him white shorts rather than the light blue/grey shorts in the artwork.

IMG_7749

Followed by Sherry. I kind of messed up on her shirt, thinking it was orange and then when I looked at the artwork noticed it was yellow with orange stripes. I decided the orange looked good anyway and kind of matched the orange on the other camp shirts I planned to do for Tracy and CJ so I left it.

IMG_7758

Karen to a little extra time to get right. First time around I wasn’t happy with her highlighting and her hair so I re-worked them. Her hair looked too grey, so I toned down the highlights and then gave it a wash of blue. I then added some additional highlighting to her clothing and she looked less drab after that.

IMG_7766

Jody was next up. I think he was supposed to have dark hair, but his artwork left a little room for interpretation so I gave him brown hair since I already had three other characters with black hair (Karen, CJ, and Otis). I even took the time to paint woodgrain on his bat.

IMG_7773

Tracy and CJ were last up. I was able to do them at the same time since they both had the camp shirt on and blue shorts. I think CJ had jean shorts so I added a bit of grey to his blue, while Tracy had running shorts and ended up with some white striping.

IMG_7779

Here is a group photo taken just after I finished dull coating CJ and Tracy before I finished their basing. Because they had the cast bases I went for outdoors style bases and used grass clumps, ivy from Army Painter, and some small Woodland Scenics foliage clumps along with some leaf litter.

IMG_7781

And the completed group photo on the board along with a few shots from Friday’s game.

11243715_10204357696686094_3565279735828796832_n

IMG_7784 IMG_7783 IMG_7782

All-in-all the miniatures for Camp Grizzly where fun to paint and something different from your normal miniature soldiers. I highly recommend checking out the game if you get a chance, it’s a lot of fun and plays fairly fast.

Leave a Reply

