The 6 Month Mountain Reduction & Painting Challenge

If you’re a miniatures gamer you have it. That mountain of unpainted plastic, resin, pewter and in some cases even lead miniatures. It stems from what my friend Dan and I like to call “Gamer ADD” or in simpler terms, “Oh look, a new shiny thing!” We seem to always start a new game and just as we get our miniatures together and get a couple games under our belts our interest wane and we find ourselves looking for something new and shiny.

Chris over at Chris’ Miniature Woes in collaboration with Dave at The Spider Web of History has proposed The 6 Month Mountain Reduction & Painting Challenge as a way to combat this phenomenon. This challenge was picked up by myincubliss at Dead Lead Project which is where Dan of Shiny Penny Musings found it and proposed the challenge to me.

The rules are simple:

  1. The challenge starts September 1st, 2014 and goes for six months.
  2. No purchasing of new miniatures, EXCEPT if you use a joker card. As in a deck of cards, you get two jokers to use on a figure purchase during the six months of the challenge. This could be a blister pack, an eBay bundle, or a single figure. Not an entire army and you can’t splurge!
  3. Gifts do not count against the you. If you’re given gift cards, you can use them without penalty on anything you want miniatures wise.
  4. Paints, terrain, materials, and other hobby supplies are exempt from the the no purchasing rule.
  5. You must make at least one hobby related blog post and/or Instagram update a week. If you Instagram, be sure to hashtag your pic with #6MMRPC.
  6. Zombtober will be part of the six month challenge so Zombie related stuff during October is ENCOURAGED!

I’ve been spending far too much money on gaming lately, between boardgames and miniatures games I have plenty to keep me busy for six months easily, possibly even longer. So I’m throwing my hat in the ring and pledging to not purchase any new miniatures according to the rules outlined above (I will also be including new boardgames) and focusing on what I have. Between Necrons, Tau, Vampire Counts, Relic Knights, 15mm sci-fi, Deep Wars, ShadowSea, A Fist-ful of Fung Fu, Dreadball, Deadzone, Battlefleet Gothic, Counterblast, SAGA, my generic sci-fi miniatures, plus with Robotech and Pulp City coming down the Kickstarter pipeline there is no reason to spend more money on miniatures.

I plan to start with two things: I recently picked up the new battlesuit from Z4 Miniatures, Type-45(D) ‘Satria’ Battlesuit for use in Ground Pounder (my generic sci-fi skirmish ruleset I have been working on) and I dug out my Forge World Tau fleet for Battlefleet Gothic as some of the guys down at the local gaming store are keen on running a campaign and BFG happens to be one of my favorite games of all time.

2 responses to “The 6 Month Mountain Reduction & Painting Challenge

Leave a Reply

