The Vikings are coming!

The SAGA rulebook.

Several of my fellow gamers have picked up SAGA by Studio Tomahawk and published by Gripping Beast. SAGA is a 28mm skirmish game “set in the Viking Age when strength and bravery were worth a thousand men.” I decided to jump on the bandwagon, but I wanted to get the best bang for my gaming buck. I came upon some great plastic figures produced by Wargames Factory under the Hammer of the Gods line, the Viking Huscarls and Viking Bondi, 32 figures per pack with a mix of weapons and heads for less than $20 each! Between the two boxes I should be able to create a 5-6pt warband for SAGA consisting of hearthguard, warriors, and levies (the three levels of unit types in SAGA). Add on a warlord figure and a blister of Viking berserkers from Gripping Beast to round out the warband I should have all I need to put together a 6pt Viking warband for under $70!

Wargames Factory figures for SAGA. Levies with bows on the right, a single warrior on the left.

Leave a Reply

