Pulp City – Street Furniture

This weekend I visited my local train store in search of some street furniture appropriate for Pulp City or other modern urban games, such as a zombie survival game. One of the things that can make the difference between so-so terrain and great terrain are the little details. With urban terrain there is a plethora of things like dumpsters, mailboxes, benches and other such pieces of street furniture available from companies like Armorcast. One of the hardest things to find is modern looking street lights and traffic lights, however I scored big with some parts from a company called JTT Scenery Products.

The street light and traffic light are 1/48 scale according to the package, but next to Gentleman you can see they work perfectly. Their website also has some additional styles I plan to order, including some additional street lights with only one light (I plan to chop off one of the lights on these as I don’t need any for the middle of the road) and some lights for a parking lot. The traffic lights I plan to trim down as the roads in the terrain I’m planning are only one lane in each direction and I plan to add some signage printed out from the computer on these to complete the detailing.

The cars are 1/43 scale diecast cars I picked up from a box out in front of the store. They were on sale for $3 each, a great price and as you can see with Gentleman next to them, in great scale with the figures. I’d like to get a couple of police cars and maybe a minivan. A city bus would be nice, but unless you want a 1970’s vintage style city bus, I will have to be prepared to shell out anywhere from $40 to $100 for a modern city bus in 1/43 scale.

Leave a Reply

